My Parents Review the Popular Culture (in point form)

31Jul06

Mom reviews Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest:

  • it’s too loud!
  • it’s too scary for little kids; I’m surprised Walt Disney let it out in this form!
  • is Johnny supposed to be gay?
  • it’s a wonder parents aren’t in and out throughout the whole thing, taking their kids to the bathroom; it’s that long!
  • oh, that one you like is in it. [Orlando Bloom, she means, and she could not be more wrong]
  • Kate Winslet hasn’t done much since Titanic, has she? [she’s not mistaking Keira Knightley for Winslet, by the way, she just thought it pertinent to the review]
  • it’s so intense, it should be rated PG, don’t you think? [it is]
  • so, there’s going to be another one?

Dad reviews Law & Order: Criminal Intent:

  • I thought that kook was in this, you know, the one who went crazy when George Bush won the election.
  • isn’t that the one who was in that other show?
  • I don’t like this show, you have to watch it from the very beginning to get what’s going on.
  • why don’t they just arrest him?
  • he’s obviously the one who did it! I had him picked from the start! [Dad doesn’t quite get that it’s a cop-psych procedural, not a whodunnit]
  • I don’t see the point of it, if you know from the get-go who did it.
  • they have two versions of Law & Order now, don’t they?

Can I just say that I love my Mom and Dad so much that it’s crazy?



One Response to “My Parents Review the Popular Culture (in point form)”

  1. 1 mr skin

    Pirates 2 pretty much sucked compared to the first one. It had a few good parts, but I think it was just a prelude to the 3rd one. I hope number 3 is better!


Leave a Reply

