Calgary Cocktail Crisps

01Aug06

You know, for a woman who’s put up with me all these years and (allegedly) loves me to bits (as I do her), my Mom is still able to whip up some really delicious snacks that go well with a very large martini and will never, ever, appear in Gourmet or Bon Appetit. So all you snobs can go to heck.

Cocktail Crisps

  • 1 cup butter (softened)
  • 1 – 8 oz. package of Imperial Cheese (softened)
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper or Tabasco sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 3/4 c. flour
  • 4 c. Rice Krispies

Cream softened butter and cheese together. Stir in flour and then the Rice Krispies. Mix well! Shape into balls (small) and press down with a fork dipped in cold water. You can bake for 15-20 minutes at 350°F (180°C) until lightly browned.

THIS RECIPE DOES NOT DOUBLE WELL! [Mom likes yelling on her recipe cards]

[She also adds the following:

  1. when I said “small balls” [hey, quit chuckling, this is my Mom!], they should make cookie-like crisps no bigger than 1 1/4″ in diameter
  2. the recipe calls for 15-20 minutes bake time, but my oven [in the Rocky Mountain foothills of Calgary] does them in 12-15, so watch carefully starting from 12 minutes.]


8 Responses to “Calgary Cocktail Crisps”

  1. 1 Jennifer

    For this poor Midwestern American, what would be the equivalent of Imperial Cheese? This recipe sounds strangely fascinating and yet, tasty. I will totally make some for the weekend if I know what to use in place of the cheese. Cream cheese? Something like Kaukauna? http://www.kaukaunacheese.com/kc/kc.nsf/SPWD/HomeHome?OpenDocument

  2. 2 bstewart23

    I can’t tell by the information I skimmed at the site to which you linked, but a couple of the products certainly look like Imperial. Basically, the cheese you want to find is cold-packed (semi-spreadable at room temp) and would have descriptions like “old” or “nippy” cheddar somewhere. It’s a very sharp cheddar with a distinct deep-orange colour, so I’m guessing that the Kaukauna Sharp or Extra-Sharp Cheddar would fit the bill.

    Let there be no mistake, though: they are fatty, carby morsels of yum.

  3. 3 Jennifer

    Fatty, carby morsels of yum are never bad. I will try it with the Kaukauna and let you know how it works out! I’m intrigued by rice krispies and cheese, not your normal combination. Thanks!

  4. 4 bstewart23

    Let me know how they turn out! I’d go with the Extra-Sharp cheese, by the way, since they’re supposed to have real tanginess, unless you find Ritz Crackers to be too spicy, in which case, yikes. And… See addenda, above.

  5. 5 Jennifer

    It’s a keeper! They like them, they really like them. I made a batch and sent them to my wife’s D&D group (yes, I love a nerd), and halted game as they became addicted to the “cheesy shortbread” like, “fluffy cheez-it”-ness of them all. I used unsalted butter, which made them in need of a little more salt, but otherwise quite tasty. Oh yeah, and you left the temperature out of your post, I guessed 350 and that seemed to work ok for 15 mins cooking time. Thank you so much for the recipe. Oh, and the dogs loved them too, or at least the one that slid off my spatula as I was putting them on the cooling rack was gobbled up with wags and looks of more more!

  6. 6 bstewart23

    God, how could I have left the temperature out of the recipe? Oh, I know. Thanks, Mom, for putting the temp up at the top of the recipe card, outside of the recipe proper! My apologies for my oversight, but I’m glad your guess was spot-on. Even more glad that they were a hit. I purchased the ingredients today, for a holiday Monday bake-off.

  7. 7 Jackie D

    These sound so good! I bet a nice Bullshot would go well with them, too.

  8. 8 teri B.

    These sound yummy. Being transplanted to sunny California from Calgary I am always eager to try out recipes from home on my new friends. I am going to look for Kaukauna since I know I can’t get Imperial. Will be serving them in December for a holiday decoration exchange.


Leave a Reply

