My Funny Neighbourhood

08Nov06

TTC Door

This exit door, at the city’s most-traveled subway station and in its third week of disrepair, offers further proof that the Toronto Transit Commission is every bit “The Better Way” its slogan would imply. Visitors to “world-class” Toronto should note that single fares for the TTC run at $2.75 and there still is no subway line to the airport.

KFC Store

At this Kentucky Fried Chicken store near the most famous intersection in Canada’s largest city, you cannot buy a bucket or even a single piece of KFC. It’s simply not on the menu. That is, if you wanted to buy a bucket or single piece of KFC.

Bay Shop on Charles

This computer store is named after the street on which Canada’s most important financial district lies. The store itself is on Charles Street, two blocks from Bay.



5 Responses to “My Funny Neighbourhood”

  1. 1 Tara

    You can buy individual pieces of chicken if you ask; they just don’t advertise it. Similarly, McDonald’s is no longer putting the Filet O’ Fish up on the big board, but they do still make them.

  2. 2 bstewart23

    For real? Because last month when I asked, I was told they didn’t have any chicken other than the sandwichy breast fillets and nuggets (and “popcorn”, ugh). Of course, I asked a counter person and not the big cheese, so there ya go. I’ll investigate later toni–I mean, at some time in the future when my resistance to the unholy allure of KFC has lowered sufficiently.

    Confirmed — sandwich-chicken only.

  3. It’s been a long time since I’ve been to Toronto, but I still found all of this to be funny. I used to date a girl who lived in Etobicoke. I thought that was funny, too.

    Etobicoke… Etobicoke… Etobicoke…. it’s fun to say.

  4. 4 Tara

    b, that’s so weird. The KFC at the Dufferin Mall sold Leah and me individual pieces (two breasts for her; breast and thigh for me) no problem.

  5. 5 bstewart23

    Stupid Yonge and Bloor store! That does it, I’m moving closer to Dufferin Ma–wait, um, no.


Leave a Reply

